top of page


The Legislative Instrument (L.I) 1386 establishing the Sefwi Wiawso District was enacted on 23rd November, 1988 under PNDC Law 207 and replaced by Local Government Act 493, 1993. It was elevated to a Municipal status in March, 2012 under Legislative Instrument, (L. I) 2015. The Sefwi Wiawso Municipality lies in the North Eastern part of the Western Region. Sefwi Wiawso which is the capital of the Municipality also doubles as the regional capital of the Western North Region.

The Sefwi Wiawso Municipality lies in the North Eastern part of the Western Region between latitudes 60N and 60 300 N and Longitudes 20 450 W and 20 150 W. The Brong Ahafo Region shares boundary with it to the North and shares boundaries with Juaboso to the West, Aowin to the south, Bibiani-Anhwiaso-Bekwai to the east and Wassa Amenfi West to the south – east. 

The Municipality from the 2010 PHC was 139,200 with a male population of 50.1 percent (69,753) and a female population of 49.9 percent (69,477). This gives a sex ratio (104 males to 100 females). With a population growth rate of 1.8% and all factors affecting population changes held constant, the total population of the Municipality for 2021 was projected to be 169,415 with the female population constituting 50.1%( 84,875) and males making up 49.9 % (84,540).

The Municipal Assembly has six (6) Zonal Councils namely:

  • Asawinso

  • Asafo

  • Boako

  • Ahwia

  • Dwinase

  • Wiawso

The Zonal Council perform the following functions: Mobilise the community for self-help work, oversee the implementation of the budget of the Zonal Council, submission of monthly revenue, preparing of expenditure and financial statements to the Municipal Assembly among others.

Some communities within the Municipality are: Ewiase, Amafie, Abrabra, Kojina, Ahokwaa, Tanoso, Datano, Susumenetee, Boako, Dwinase, Aboanidua, Kramokrom, Punikrom, Anyinabrim, Wiawso, Paboase, Ahwiaa, and Asafo among others.

The Municipality has a lot of potential tourist sites that are not developed which include; The Tree of God (NyameDua), OkomfoAnokyeAkoma, Abombirim Sacred Tortoise Forest, and the Ancestral Hole of Bosomoiso among others.

bottom of page