top of page


Asafo Zonal Council is one of the six (6) Zonal Councils in the Sefwi Wiawso Municipal Assembly (SWMA). It shares boundaries with Boako Zonal Council to South and South-East and Asawinso Zonal Council to North and North-west.

The 2010PHC estimated the population of the Zonal Council as 10,534 with 1,709 houses and 2,323 households, Male population is 5,208 and Female population of 3,326. Using the Sefwi Wiawso Municipality population growth rate of 1.8%, it is estimated that the 2020 population of the Zonal Council would stand at 10,724.


The Zonal Council has three (3) Electoral areas namely:

  • Sui-Ano

  • Asafo North

  • Asafo South


Some communities within the area include: Asafo, Achiachin,Kanchiabo, Shell, Stephen Ferkah, Yaw Yeboah Village, Akowua Village, Kwarko Village, Aniaba Village, Kofi Adu Village, Inisah, Kosasse, AgyaAffum, Agua-Aku, MaameBronya, AgyaKyere, Yaw Wiredu, BoafooApau, ApauKessie. Banks, Market, Hospital, and Educational centers are some commercial activities within the Zonal Council. There are major roads running the Zonal through the Council to Aswainso and Juaboso District. Asafo serves as a major connector and a modal community for adjoining areas in terms of health care.

bottom of page