top of page


Asawinso Zonal Council is one of the six (6) Zonal Councils in the Sefwi Wiawso Municipal Assembly (SWMA). It shares boundaries with Asafo Zonal Council to South, South-West and Juaboso district to North, North-East.

The 2010PHC estimated the population of the Zonal Council as 15,720 with 2,222 houses and 3,448 households, Male population is 7,689 and Female population of 8,031. Using the Sefwi Wiawso Municipality population growth rate of 1.8%, it is estimated that the 2020 population of the Zonal Council would stand at 16,003.


The Zonal Council has four (4) Electoral areas namely:

  • Kojina Essakrom

  • Aboagyekrom

  • Sefwiline

  • Market Area


Some communities within the area include: Kojina, Essakrom, Djatokrom, Mfodwo, Mr. Antwi, Yalarbikrom, Arthurkrom, Agyemankrom and Aboagyekrom. The Zonal Council have some commercial activities such as banks, market, hospital, and educational centers. There are major roads running the Zonal Council to Juaboso District, Boako serves as a major contributor of health care and a modal community for adjoining areas.

bottom of page