top of page


The 38th Farmers’ Day Celebration was held nationwide on the 2nd December, 2022 under the theme Accelerating Agriculture development through value addition. In view of that, the Sefwi Wiawso Municipal Assembly celebrated its Municipal Farmers’ Day at Asawinso which was first of its kind the maiden Regional Farmers’ Day was also celebrated at the same venue with four other adjoining districts namely; Bibiani Anhwiaso Bekwai, Akontombra, Juaboso and Bodi.

Mr. Adama Kombat was crowned the Municipal Overall Best Farmer in the Sefwi Wiawso Municipality. In all, nineteen (19) farmers were awarded including best Extension Agent.

The Regional Minister, Chief Director, Municipal Chief Executives, the Municipal Coordinating Directors and other officers from Regional Coordinating Council and Municipal Assemblies were present to grace the occasion. The Omanhene of Sefwi Wiawso Traditional Area, Katakyie Kwasi Bumangama II who was the Chairman of the occasion and his elders were present. The Chirano Gold Mines, the main sponsor of the Municipal overall best farmer was at the occasion and donated a tricycle and farm tools to the best farmer; Mr. Adama Kombat while John Bitar Company Limited also donated a motor bike to the second-best farmer; Mr. Daniel Aduhene. Mrs. Margaret Tettey, a forty-nine (49) year old woman was crowned the Municipal overall best women farmer and was awarded a double door fridge, sewing machine, farm tools and assorted items. Other municipal categories of awards included: best crop farmer, best livestock farmer, best poultry farmer, best youth farmer, best cocoa farmer, best fish farmer, best PWD farmer, best rice farmer, best maize farmer, best vegetable farmer, best non-traditional farmer, best FBO, best Cassava, best fish farmer, best processor, best Agric. Extension Agent and best school in Agricultural activities.

The welcome address was given by Hon. Louis Owusu Agyapong; the Sefwi Wiawso Municipal Chief Executive to welcome the farmers, award winners and other dignitaries at the function.

The Hon. Regional Minister; Mr. Richard Ebbah Obeng in his speech encourage the youth to involved themselves in Agriculture. He also urged the farmers to always get closer to Agricultural Extension Officers for help in the field of their work to maximize productivity.

The Regional Director of Agriculture; Mr. William H. Fordjour in his speech encouraged the farmers to increase production to ensure food security in the country.

Hon. Louis Owusu Agyapong; the Sefwi Wiawso Municipal Chief Executive and Mr. Joseph K. Baah; the Sefwi Wiawso Municipal Coordinating Director, presented the municipal award winners with certificates and prizes.

The Sefwi Wiawso Municipal Assembly presented a cutlass each to more than four hundred farmers who brought various crop commodities for exhibition at the venue.

Also, the Municipal Assembly recognized and awarded a citation to companies which continue to sponsor Municipal Farmers’ Day Celebration over the years in the municipality and these were; Chirano Gold Mines, John Bitar Company Limited, Buadac Company Limited and Boison Company Limited. Perseverance Agrochemicals’ CEO was also awarded with a citation for his continuous distribution of Planting for Food and Jobs (PFJ) inputs in the municipality.

At the venue, the Western North Overall Regional Best Farmer for 2022 was awarded with Changan Hunter Pick-up double-cabin truck donated by Asante Gold Corporation to Nana Barimah Yaw Donkor from Yawmetwe in the Bia West District.

There were presentations made to other award winners from the four adjoining districts (Bibiani Anhwiaso Bekwai, Akontombra, Juaboso and Bodi)by their Hon. Chief Executives and their Coordinating Directors.

The celebration was colorful and was one of the best among the past celebrations and it ended successfully with the vote of thanks delivered by Sefwi Wiawso Municipal Agric Director; Mr. Daniel K.A. Nyagorme.


Anchor 1
bottom of page